My Beach

The WA flag flew high at the 2018 Surf Life Saving Australia (SLSA) Awards of Excellence with two WA representatives picking up national titles.

Among a field of outstanding finalists from surf life saving clubs across Australia, Sandy Clarke of Mullaloo SLSC took home the 2018 DHL Volunteer of the Year title, while Sorrento’s Jenny Plint took out the national Surf Sports Coach of the Year award.

On being named the DHL Volunteer of the Year, Sandy said she felt deeply humbled to receive such a prestigious award, but  knows that it wasn’t her doing alone.

“Surf life saving is a team effort, every triumph we have as individuals is because of a team of incredible people who have also put in the hard yards,” she said.

WA was well represented at the event with more than 20 finalists and their guests making the journey to NSW, while Denmark SLSC attended en masse, making a wonderful statement as WA nominees for the DHL Club of the Year.

Alli Gould, who represented North Cottesloe SLSC and Christ Church Grammar School in the Community Education Program of the Year category, said SLSA did a wonderful job of recognising the quality and quantity of those involved in the surf life saving movement, highlighting the countless hours and energy contributed by so many across the country.

Congratulations to all our finalists who represented WA with distinction and passion.