My Beach

Trigg beach was a hive of activity as 125 competitors took to the water for Race 2 of the WA Ironman Series – the Triple Sprint.

Athletes were treated to a balmy 25 degrees, small swell and offshore southeasterly winds for the event, which saw them power through the Triple Sprint format, involving three short course Ironman races. In this format, athletes earn points for each placing, with the overall winner determined by the lowest points accumulated over the three races.

Under 17 Competition

The U17 females kicked off the competition for the day, with Sophie Barron Hay (City of Perth), Jenna Stummer (Mullaloo) and Mikaela Innocent (Trigg Island) each putting in a solid performance. Sophie took out Race 1 and 2, powering ahead of her competitors in the swim leg, with Jenna putting in a strong board leg to take out Race 3.

Next up, Johann Szymanski (North Cottesloe) proved he is a force to be reckoned with, after taking out first place in all three races. Fremantle’s Archie Davis kept on Johann’s heels throughout each race, with fellow North Cottesloe team mate Liam Pizzirani close behind.

Open Competition

Moving into the Open competition, the male start line was jam-packed with 25 athletes. Reigning 2019 U17 & Open Ironman champion Will Savage (Trigg Island) put on a masterclass in all three races, enjoying a stellar win on what is his 18th birthday. City of Perth athletes Max Anderson-Loake, Matt Colliss and Harry Hewitt each put in impressive performances, never too far behind Will.

Some early carnage over the waves in the opening ski leg of Race 3 saw Sam Hensen-Thompson (North Cottesloe) use his kayaking background to his advantage, powering ahead at the transition, however Will’s strength in the swim and board leg resulted in a win for Will in Race 3 and overall.

The Open Ironwoman competition featured a much smaller pack, with 9 females battling it out. Macarah Mallis (Trigg Island) and Soraya Lee (Mullaloo) were neck and neck throughout Race 1, with Macarah leading at each change and Nikita Fredonnet (Trigg Island) never far behind in third. In Race 2, Nikita, Sophie Lloyd (City of Perth), Soraya and Macarah took turns getting in front, with Soraya putting in a mammoth swim leg to take out Race 2. It was a tight race to finish up, with Macarah, Soraya, Nikita and Sophie battling it out, before Soraya put in a strong board leg to take out Race 3 and the Triple Sprint Open Female title.

Youth Competition

In the Youth Ironwoman arena, North Cottesloe’s white cap was dominant at the front of the pack, with Rubie Turner, Lexi Menin and Abbie Loraine in a close group throughout all three races. Harriet Chin (Sorrento) put in a stellar effort throughout all three races, with a win in Race 1 and third placings in Race 2 & 3.

The Male Youth competition was dominated by Jules Fredonnet (City of Perth) and Jackson Anderson (North Cottesloe). Much like the Youth Female races, the front pack of the male competition was a sea of North Cottesloe caps, with Tex Cross and Kristian Seidl never far behind the race leaders. Jackson took out Race 1, with Jules taking out Race 2 & 3 with some serious gusto.

Check out the full results here – Open Results & Youth/U17 Results

Photo gallery can be found here. 

WA Ironman Series Cumulative Point Score

After two rounds of the WA Ironman Series, here are the top athletes for each category

U17 Female 

Name Club Total Points
Sophie Baron-Hay City of Perth 28
Jenna Stummer Mullaloo 28
Mikaela Innocent Trigg Island 28
Keira Mladineo North Cottesloe 24
Samantha Lourey Trigg Island 22

U17 Male

Name Club Total Points
Johann Szymanski North Cottesloe 30
Archie Davis Fremantle 28
Liam Pizzirani North Cottesloe 24
Liam Foley Trigg Island 22
Harper Davies Trigg Island 21

Open Female

Name Club Total
Macarah Mallis Trigg Island 29
Soraya Lee Mullaloo 28
Nikita Fredonnet City of Perth 27
Sophie Lloyd City of Perth 24
Phoebe Ashworth Fremantle 22

Open Male

Name Club Total
Will Savage Trigg Island 30
Max Anderson Loake City of Perth SLSC 28
Matthew Colliss City of Perth SLSC 26
Harry Hewitt City of Perth SLSC 24
Patrick Eley Trigg Island 19
Max Hunter Trigg Island 18

Youth Female

Name Club Total Points
Rubie Turner North Cottesloe 30
Lexi Menin North Cottesloe 27
Harriet Chin Sorrento (WA) 27
Abbie Loraine North Cottesloe 24
Rosie Banks City of Bunbury 20
Hannah Young City of Perth SLSC 19
Samantha Brigden Sorrento (WA) 19

Youth Male

Name Club Total Points
Jules Fredonnet City of Perth 30
Jackson Anderson North Cottesloe 28
Tex Cross North Cottesloe 26
Kristian Seidl North Cottesloe 24
Joshua Neervoort Trigg Island 22