What is Surf League?

An exciting new team-based competition, Surf League gives clubs the chance to go head-to-head on the sand and in the water, in a new spectator friendly format! Offering cash prizes for Clubs, and Western Suns team selection & travel subsidies for individuals, get on board by registering with your Club NOW!

As Surf League is new this year we know you will have heaps of questions, so we’ve put together a bunch of answers to the questions we think you may have! If we have missed anything, please get in touch! We look forward to seeing you down on the beach this summer.

Get all the info here…

How does it work?

Surf League is a club based, team competition event. Clubs can enter as many teams as they wish. Each team can contain up to 20 competitors made up of ocean/beach athletes and surf boat crews.

Who can compete?

Members aged U14 and above are eligible to compete in a team however U14/U15 competitors may only compete in beach sprints, swim and board disciplines, and applicable legs of the Taplin relay.

What are the Age Groups?

There will only be one Age division – Open.
As per above, athletes in age groups U/14 and above are eligible, however U14/U15 competitors may only compete in beach sprints, swim and board disciplines, and applicable legs of the Taplin relay.

How are the teams made up?

You need to register you interest with your Club. Once you register your interest with the Club, they will put teams together. As long as they meet the relevant criteria there is no limit to the number of teams a Club can enter. The more the merrier we say!

Don’t have the competitor numbers to field a full team?

Combined club teams can be formed for Surf League events.
Combined club team can be formed with a maximum of two clubs, however country clubs can combine with other clubs in their region to form a regional team. Please note that combined club teams are not eligible for team prizes.

Can teams change each round?

Yes, they can. Each round acts as a separate competition with scoring and team prizes allocated at the close of each Round. In saying that, teams don’t have to change! This will depend up on the availability of competitors from Round to Round.

What events are included?

We’ve made sure there is something for everyone! Events include:
Surf Boats, Sprints, Flags, Ski, Board, Swim & Ironman races for both genders
A Mixed Taplin Relay made up of 8-person teams (four males and four females in the teams with swim, board, ski and runners).

What events can I compete in?

One competitor/crew within each team will race in a given discipline; however, a competitor can contest multiple disciplines within the team.

Do I have to compete in every round?

No, you do not. You can only get there for Round 2? No problem, when you register just let your Club know which Round’s you are available to participate in, and they will include you in a team for that round. (This does mean however that you may not be eligible for the individual prizes of travel subsidies*. See “I heard there are prizes. What can I win?” below!)

I heard there are prizes. What can I win?

Apart from the fact that we will give you a really cool t-shirt just for entering, you are correct, there are prizes!

Team Prizes
The top three placed complete club teams* per round, will win the following prize money for their club:

  • 1st – $3,000 per round
  • 2nd – $2,000 per round
  • 3rd – $1,000 per round

*Teams comprised of members from multiple clubs will not be eligible to win the prize money. Individuals or boat crews within combined teams are still eligible for individual/crew prizes.

Individual Prizes
For individual athletes, Western Suns Open Elite Team selection and travel subsidies are up for grabs! How does this work you ask?
Ocean/beach athletes and surf boat crews will accumulate points across the three Surf League rounds. The winners of each discipline (up to 12 ocean/beach athletes) based on total points accrued across the three rounds will be selected for the Western Suns team. They will receive a subsidy to travel to the sixth and final round of the Ocean 6 Series (23-25 February 2018). Only one travel subsidy will be awarded per athlete.

Surf boat crews with the most points at the conclusion of the third round of Surf League will be given a subsidy to travel to the Australian Surf Rowers League (ASRL) Open (16-18 February 2018). To be eligible for the surf boat crew subsidy, at least 3 of the 5 rowers must remain the same across the three rounds.

Sorry, I forgot, how do I enter? And when do entries close?

That’s ok, there was a lot to read! You need to register with your Club Sport Director/Administrator who will enter teams from your club. Registrations close Monday evening prior to each round, but to make things easier, why not just register for each round now, that way it’s all done.

How much does it cost?

We want to see many of our surf clubs entering teams into Surf League, so entry is free for all teams across the entire series.

But I’ve got more questions. Who do I speak to?

In the first instance, speak with your Club Sports Director. For any other questions, please contact Jason Wright, SLSWA Sport and Development Coordinator on (08) 9207 6666, or Andrew Mosel, SLSWA Surf Sports Officer.