My Beach

Surf Life Saving Western Australia (SLSWA) wrapped up another successful season at its annual Awards of Excellence at Crown Perth on Saturday night.

Celebrating outstanding contributions and achievements from SLSWA members, including lifesavers, athletes and all those who work tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure the success of their clubs, SLSWA President Craig Smith-Gander paid tribute to the many volunteers who spent their weekends on beaches across our State.

It is about celebrating all the volunteers who are the lifeblood of this great movement,” said Mr. Smith-Gander.

“During the 2016/17 season, these volunteer surf lifesavers spent in excess of 108,800 hours patrolling our beaches performing more than 580 rescues, 1,467 first aids and 14,750 preventative actions.

These people are the everyday heroes of our beaches, all of whom commit countless hours of service to uphold the mission of saving lives and creating great communities.” He said.

Among the major award winners was Adam Hoes from the Mandurah Surf Life Saving Club who took out the Lifesaver of the Year category.

At just 25 years old, Adam has been part of the surf life saving movement for 12 years, performing more than 1800 lifesaving patrol hours.

His determination to succeed has seen him fulfil a range of roles at his club including Board Member; Director of Surf Lifesaving; Patrol Captain, Trainer, Assessor and Vehicle Officer and, under Adam’s leadership, Mandurah have expanded their patrols and patrol hours; now spanning two beaches and extra hours.

The ‘Open Athlete of the Year’ award went to Jackson Symonds from Sorrento Surf Life Saving Club.

Jackson is the back-to-back winner of the title and also took out the ‘Bernie Kelly Medal’ for his impressive results this season. In 2016/17 Jackson successfully defended his WA Beach Sprint title, took out his third Australian Beach Sprint title as well as the WA Beach Flags and Beach Relay event with his Sorrento team mates.

The winners of the following awards will go on to represent WA at the Surf Life Saving Australia Awards of Excellence later this year: Official, Coach, Athlete, Trainer, Assessor, Lifeguard, Lifesaver, Volunteer and Lavan Club of the Year.