My Beach

The 2021 Surf Life Saving Australia Awards of Excellence will hit screens across Australia next Saturday, as the annual awards celebrate the achievements of members and clubs from across the country.

Winners from 12 categories of the 2021 Surf Life Saving WA Awards of Excellence held in July this year, will be up for honours across a range of categories including Volunteer of the Year, Lifesaver of the Year, Coach of the Year, Community Education Program of the Year, Youth Lifesaver of the Year, and the coveted Club of the Year.

The annual award night pays tribute to and celebrates the extraordinary efforts of members in Surf Life Saving who have demonstrated outstanding acts in the surf, on the beach, in their clubs and in the community over the past season.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the Awards will be delivered online for the second year in a row on Saturday, 6 November, allowing members, friends, and family from across Australia to enjoy the event live via SLSA’s Facebook page.

Kicking off at 2:30 pm (AWST), the awards will feature in-studio presentations, virtual interviews and appearances from members across Australia.

We would like to congratulate all of WA’s finalists and wish them the best of luck.

Assessor of the Year
Jeff Medcalf – Albany SLSC

Coach of the Year
Matthew Bowbridge – Trigg Island SLSC

Community Education Program of the Year
Silver Salties – Binningup SLSC

Club of the Year
Trigg Island SLSC

Lifeguard of the Year
Dominic Lawrence – Cottesloe SLSC

Lifesaver of the Year
Jay Morgan – Fremantle SLSC

Official of the Year
Garry Bunford – Sorrento SLSC

Open Athlete of the Year
Sophie Watts – City of Perth SLSC

Trainer of the Year
Garry Williams – Secret Harbour SLSC

Volunteer of the Year
Luke Bishop – Swanbourne Nedlands SLSC

Youth Athlete of the Year
Will Savage – Trigg Island SLSC

Youth Lifesaver of the Year
Nicholas Graydon – Secret Harbour SLSC