My Beach

Scarborough beach played host to an exciting Round 2 of the SunSmart WA Surf League series.

The event was packed full of action, with the Youth competitors treated to SSE winds, before the wind moved to a strong southerly sea breeze during the late morning, making for an exciting and challenging day of racing for the Open competitors. 

Youth Competition (U14-U17)

The Youth competition was again dominated by City of Perth A, who secured three first-place finishes, six-second places, and one-third place. The girls powered ahead for the team, with Sophie Baron-Hay continuing her dominance in the Female Board Race, while Megan McCaffery claimed wins in the Female Beach Flags and Beach Sprint.

Trigg Island Green were hot on the heels of City of Perth A, with Kai Marchetto claiming a convincing win in the Male Surf Race ahead of clubmate Oliver Brehaut, who was racing for Trigg Island Red. Brehaut and Marchetto also fought out a hard paced finish in the Male Board Race, with Brehaut coming out on top.

Mikaela Innocent from Trigg Island Green took out the Youth Female Ironwoman, beating rival and WA Ironwoman Series champion Sophie Baron-Hay from City of Perth A.

Aysha Ferguson from Trigg Island Red came back from time away from the sport to win the Youth Female Surf Race in her first competition for the year.

The top three Youth teams of the day were:

  • 1st: City of Perth A (215 points)
  • 2nd: Trigg Island Green (191 points)
  • 3rd: North Cottesloe A (168 points)

If you missed any of the action from the Youth events, they will be premiered on the Surf Life Saving WA Facebook and YouTube channel tomorrow (Sunday, 6 December) from 4pm.

Click here for the full YOUTH point score.

Individual event results.

Photo gallery here.

Open Competition

Trigg Island Green absolutely dominated the Open competition with nine first-place finishes and two-second place finishes, totalling 265 points for the day.

Kicking off the Open competition was the Mixed Ski Relay with Dan Humble and Jazmin Shipway-Carr from Trigg Island Green taking out the win.

Next up, everyone turned their attention to the Beach Sprint finals, where Imogen Herrington (City Rhode-Scholars) and Dominic Banks-Smith (North Cottesloe) both demonstrated clear wins.

Max Anderson-Loake from City Rhode-Scholars beat WA Ironman Series champion Will Savage (Trigg Island Green) who came in second place. Anderson-Loake had a killer swim leg, which gave him a lead that he sustained throughout.

WA Ironman Series Champion Ironwoman Macarah Mallis (Trigg Island Green) once again dominated the Ironman race, with Soraya Lee (Mullaloo Blue) hot on her tails until she lost her board, which gave City Rhode-Scholars’ Nikita Fredonnet a chance to catch up, chasing Lee to the finish line. Soraya Lee went on to show her strengths in the Open Female Surf Race, claiming a win for Mullaloo Blue.

The Male Surf Race saw competitors racing neck and neck, but it was Paul Laver from Scarboro Seagulls, former 2014 Rotto Swim winner, who took out the win with a strong performance.

The top Open teams of the day were:

  • 1st: Trigg Island Green (265 points)
  • 2nd: City Rhode-Scholars (245 points)
  • 3rd: Trigg Island Red (229 points)
  • 4th: North Cottesloe (227 points)

If you missed any of the Open action from Round 2 of SunSmart WA Surf League, head to Surf Life Saving WA’s Facebook page to re-watch the event.

Click here for the full OPEN point score.

Individual event results.

Photo gallery here.