My Beach

A stellar lineup of up-and-coming youth athletes will team up with some of WA’s best open athletes as part of the Western Suns team for the upcoming SLSA Interstate Championships.

To take place on 24th January, 2020 at Alexandra Headland in Queensland, the Western Suns will join more than 160 competitors from across Australia battling it out for their state or territory.

Athletes were chosen for the team after their performances across a number of events including the 2019 WA Championships and Aussies, and the more recent preseason event at City Beach and last weekend’s Senior Carnival at Mullaloo.

On the women’s side, outstanding performances last weekend from U17 athletes Nikita Fredonnet (Trigg Island) and Harriet Brown (North Cottesloe), who took the age and open wins in the Ironwoman and Ski respectively, secured their selection in this year’s team, while reigning WA Open Ironwoman champion Ceris Graham (Trigg Island) will once again make an appearance.

Other standout inclusions include current Australian Beach Sprint champion Jackson Symonds (Sorrento), U17 athlete and reigning WA Open Ironman champion Will Savage (Trigg Island), and pool rescue powerhouse Jake Smith (Trigg Island) who is currently competing as a member of the Australian Surf Life Saving Team in Germany. Ski athlete Dan Humble (Trigg Island) will also represent WA for the 10th time.

Twenty of the 24 below athletes have also been named in the three West Australian teams for the brand new National Super Surf Teams League – Broome Pearlers, Scarborough Sunsets and Margaret River Waves. Read more about the new national series and teams here.

Thanks to Engine, the official apparel supplier to the Western Suns.

2019 Western Suns Ocean/Beach Interstate Team

Female Athletes

Youth Nikita Fredonnet City of Perth
Youth Ella Packer Sorrento
Youth Sophie Lloyd City of Perth
Youth Harriet Brown North Cottesloe
Youth Amy Breman Sorrento
Youth Sydney Rafferty Sorrento
Open Ceris Graham Trigg Island
Open Jazmin Shipway Carr Trigg Island
Open Soraya Lee Mullaloo
Open Courtney Franz Cottesloe
Open Ruby Warne Trigg Island
Open Jacqueline Lord City of Perth

Male Athletes

Youth Will Savage Trigg Island
Youth Patrick Eley Trigg Island
Youth Matt Colliss City of Perth
Youth Cristian Sayers Sorrento
Youth Charlie Hewitt City of Perth
Youth Tyson Cook Sorrento
Open Jackson Symonds Sorrento
Open Daniel Humble Trigg Island
Open Charlie Rigby Sorrento
Open Max Anderson-Loake City of Perth
Open Jake Smith Trigg Island
Open Wesley Gould Mullaloo / Kurrawa